The Undisciplined Sluggard

What say you, God, to this Undisciplined Sluggard?
Say you peace?
Say you woe?
What say you, God, to this Undisciplined Sluggard?
Say you grace?
Say you go?
Depart from me worker of iniquity
Who loves her sleepy pleasures
More than me?
What say you, God, to this Undisciplined Sluggard?
Who goes from good intention to tragic invention
Substituting precious truth for lies
Closing her eyes
Forgeting he prize
Forgeting to rise
Forsaking the stride
Soaking in pride
And fear abides
With many excuses
And grace abuses
And sitting in funk
Thinking she must be useless.
What say you, God, to the Unmotivated Sluggard?
Say you this
a thousand times?
I am married to you,
my daughter,
my bride
Yes, even the backslider is mine.
Bought with a price,
Sealed with redemption
Cleansed you with spice
Healed with repentance
Look at your life
And be my witness
Listen to me
Now with a quickness
Leave all of your treasures aside
The sins that you have stacked so high
Building walls ‘tween you and me
Worshiping nondiety
With complacence bowing down to selfish fear yet
Wrapped in binding flesh and not my freeing spirit
If you will open wide your mouth
I will always fill it
But now you’re closed off from me
I know you cannot hear it
So
I’ll let you serve your own devices
Stubborn heart and stubborn constant crisis
Hear, Undisciplined Sluggard, just listen to me
Follow my ways
With integrity

And I will satisfy you.

Leave a Reply

